Natalie D-Napoleon is an Australian singer-songwriter based in Santa Barbara, California.

She commenced her musical career in 1996 fronting Perth indie-rock collective Bloom. A year after its formation the band garnered the WAMI Award for Most Promising New Act.


After the demise of Bloom in 1998, Natalie formed alternative-country ensemble Flavour of the Month - breaking new ground for Americana music in Australia, before moving on to a solo career in 2005, releasing a string of albums and EPs and touring through Australia, Europe, and the United States.


After immigrating to California in 2008 and forming a trio with Kenny Edwards (Stone Ponys/Linda Ronstadt) and Dan Phillips (Peter Gabriel), the following year the group recorded an EP of covers titled "Here in California." Their acoustic cover of AC/DC's "You Shook Me All Night Long" featured on ABC Music's "Under the Covers." In 2010 the trio teamed up with producer David Piltch (kd lang/Joe Henry) to record the album, "Leaving Me Dry."


With David Piltch on bass, Kenny Edwards on guitar and Dan Phillips on piano, the ensemble was joined by Victoria Williams on banjo, Greg Leisz (Wilco) on pedal steel, Phil Parlapiano (Grant Lee-Buffalo) on accordion, and Aaron Sterling (John Mayer) on drums.


Natalie has opened for Victoria Williams, Vic Chesnutt, John Doe, Jack Frost (Steve Kilbey and Grant McLennan), Morphine, Mark Olson, and John Butler, including shows at SXSW and festivals throughout the states and Australia.


Natalie is completing her fourth solo release, an album recorded live with one mic in Deane Chapel, nestled under oak trees in the hills of Santa Barbara. The 12-song album, "You Wanted to Be the Shore But Instead You Were the Sea," was recorded with James Connolly (Van Dyke Parks) producing, and Doug Pettibone (Lucinda Williams) joining Natalie on guitar and mandolin.


The album's imminent release continues Natalie's journey through Americana, pushing the boundaries of women’s voices in traditional song.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Label: Household Ink Records


Booking: Syrinx Music


Press: Brett Leigh Dicks

© 2023 by PURPLE WAVE. Proudly created with

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle